New Results Format!

Archived. Please post suggestions to our new community page!
rmcknight
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:26 am

Re: New Results Format!

Post by rmcknight » Tue Nov 03, 2009 6:24 am

Searchtempest Nathan wrote:New question: do any of you (or maybe... all of you :?: ) have AdBlock installed? It seems that adblock (and maybe other similar programs) thinks that the craigslist results are ads, and so prevents them from opening.
I'm using Adblock also, I turned it off for SearchTempest and all is well. I suppose I could have cleared my cache or re-started my browser to allow your code change to load, but that seems like a pretty drastic step ;-).

Just for reference, I am also using Firefox 3.5.4

Thanks for a great website and such quick response.

Rob

User avatar
Tempest Nathan
Site Admin
Posts: 1371
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:06 pm
Contact:

Re: New Results Format!

Post by Tempest Nathan » Tue Nov 03, 2009 3:30 pm

rmcknight wrote:I'm using Adblock also, I turned it off for SearchTempest and all is well. I suppose I could have cleared my cache or re-started my browser to allow your code change to load, but that seems like a pretty drastic step ;-).
A refresh of the results page would've done it. ;) But anyway, I'm glad it's working for you! :D

44tonner
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 7:02 pm

Re: New Results Format!

Post by 44tonner » Wed Nov 04, 2009 7:09 pm

It's great. Anyway you could add a number of records to display? Like just the latest 10 records for each city. A box where you could put the number to display. If blank, you show them like you do now. If you check each day you only need to look at the new ones.

OR maybe a date to search up to. Like all the entries back to 11/1/2009.

Just some ideas to shorten up the lists.

Thanks for the great search engine for Craig's List

Gary
Leslie, MI

User avatar
Tempest Nathan
Site Admin
Posts: 1371
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:06 pm
Contact:

Re: New Results Format!

Post by Tempest Nathan » Wed Nov 04, 2009 8:45 pm

44tonner wrote:It's great. Anyway you could add a number of records to display? Like just the latest 10 records for each city. A box where you could put the number to display. If blank, you show them like you do now. If you check each day you only need to look at the new ones.

OR maybe a date to search up to. Like all the entries back to 11/1/2009.

Just some ideas to shorten up the lists.

Thanks for the great search engine for Craig's List

Gary
Leslie, MI
Hi Gary,

Thanks for the suggestion. I absolutely plan to add a date filter. It's near the top of my to-do list. Should have it available withing a month or two. (Would be sooner, but I'm going to be out of town for a couple weeks.) I'd eventually like to add a 'since your last search' filter too, which would be awesome, but will take a bit longer.

caddison
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 7:58 am

Re: New Results Format!

Post by caddison » Thu Nov 05, 2009 8:06 am

Nathan,

The new format is good, nice job! I am having trouble when opening a link as the listing opens off center and parts of the add go of the page. You have to open in full window view to see all the text.

Only thing I could think of that would be nice would be a "recently posted since last visit" search or list! I pop in frequently to see if anything new has been listed if I am searching for something specific. Again...nice work!

User avatar
Tempest Nathan
Site Admin
Posts: 1371
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:06 pm
Contact:

Re: New Results Format!

Post by Tempest Nathan » Thu Nov 05, 2009 4:08 pm

caddison wrote:Nathan,

The new format is good, nice job! I am having trouble when opening a link as the listing opens off center and parts of the add go of the page. You have to open in full window view to see all the text.

Only thing I could think of that would be nice would be a "recently posted since last visit" search or list! I pop in frequently to see if anything new has been listed if I am searching for something specific. Again...nice work!
See the post right above yours. Recently posted is in the works.
As for the problem you describe, what browser and OS are you using? I'm not experiencing anything like that. Does it happen with every ad you open?

caddison
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 7:58 am

Re: New Results Format!

Post by caddison » Fri Nov 06, 2009 8:50 am

Nathan,

I am using IE8 and every ad is coming up aligned to right of the page with a portion of it being off the page.

User avatar
Tempest Nathan
Site Admin
Posts: 1371
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:06 pm
Contact:

Re: New Results Format!

Post by Tempest Nathan » Fri Nov 06, 2009 3:58 pm

caddison wrote:Nathan,

I am using IE8 and every ad is coming up aligned to right of the page with a portion of it being off the page.
Oh IE, what would I do without you? I'd have to take up a hobby to fill all my free time! ;)

Give it a try now. Should be fixed.

thesearewords
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 2:49 pm

Re: New Results Format!

Post by thesearewords » Sat Nov 07, 2009 2:53 pm

i get the following error in ie7 and ff3.

I got the latest java version from the link but it didn't seem to help

I dont get prompted to accept the certificate.

-----------
load: class Searchtempest_Helper.class not found.
java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: Searchtempest_Helper.class
at sun.plugin2.applet.Applet2ClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.loadCode(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2Manager.createApplet(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2Manager$AppletExecutionRunnable.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
Caused by: java.net.ConnectException: Connection refused: connect
at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.socketConnect(Native Method)
at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.doConnect(Unknown Source)
at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.connectToAddress(Unknown Source)
at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.connect(Unknown Source)
at java.net.SocksSocketImpl.connect(Unknown Source)
at java.net.Socket.connect(Unknown Source)
at sun.net.NetworkClient.doConnect(Unknown Source)
at sun.net.www.http.HttpClient.openServer(Unknown Source)
at sun.net.www.http.HttpClient.openServer(Unknown Source)
at sun.net.www.http.HttpClient.<init>(Unknown Source)
at sun.net.www.http.HttpClient.New(Unknown Source)
at sun.net.www.http.HttpClient.New(Unknown Source)
at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.getNewHttpClient(Unknown Source)
at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.plainConnect(Unknown Source)
at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.connect(Unknown Source)
at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.getInputStream(Unknown Source)
at java.net.HttpURLConnection.getResponseCode(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Applet2ClassLoader.getBytes(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Applet2ClassLoader.access$000(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Applet2ClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
... 7 more
Exception: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: Searchtempest_Helper.class
------


edit:disabled firewall (nod32) and it works. hmmmm any tips on what i should change in nod to allow the applet to run?

User avatar
Tempest Nathan
Site Admin
Posts: 1371
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:06 pm
Contact:

Re: New Results Format!

Post by Tempest Nathan » Sat Nov 07, 2009 4:37 pm

Unfortunately I don't know anything about the Nod32 firewall. Is there a reason you're using it rather than the built-in Windows Firewall? Presumably you need to find a setting to allow Java applets to be downloaded.

Locked